Boys Varsity Football · Football All-City Team Announced

The Indianapolis Football Coaches recently voted on who the best players in the city are and Cardinal Ritter High School had 4 members of the Raiders squad make the team.

Aaron “Rhino” Roberts has been a highly touted and recruited lineman this season and played up to the expectations for the year.  He was constantly matched up against the opponents best defensive linemen and would impose his will on them.  The running game was spectacular because of his leading of the “Beefy Buccaneer Brothers,” and it seemed as if every time a Raider running back got behind him, they were awarded with a huge chunk of yards.  On offense, Roberts had 38 pancake blocks in just 9 games.  In the passing game, he was able to keep the Cardinal Ritter’s quarterbacks jerseys clean by keeping would be tacklers at bay.  On defense, he was a tremendous plug in stopping the run.  There is no doubt that more accolades will be following Roberts over the next couple of weeks.

The next player on the list was the Raiders sack master Antwann “20” Dix.  Dix has been ruthless to opposing quarterbacks over the course of the last two seasons.  Last year he ran wild racking up a school record 20 sacks on the year which was the best in the state and tied for 26th in the entire country.  This year, while being double teamed most of the year, he accumulated 12 sacks, good for 8th overall in the state and number 2 in 3A.  His 32 overall sacks is also a school record.

Gavin Crooke was the youngest member to make the team.  His sensational follow up to his rookie year last year was even better.  Crooke had a team high 68 tackles (5 for a loss) in just 9 games going along with his anchoring of the team defense at middle linebacker had him on some coaches’ radar as defensive player of the year.  On offense, he was second on the team in rushing with 480 yards and 4 touchdowns on 57 carries for an amazing 8.4 yards per carry.  He also had 7 catches for 73 yards and a TD.

Making the Honorable Mention Team this year were Justin “Powder Keg” Browder and Timmy “The Galloping Ghost” Godsil.

Great job Raiders!